from Bangkok

March 24, 2010

I’ve already stopped by Ho Chi Minh City, but it was a bit too hectic for any bloggage.  Now in Bangkok, I’ve been so anxious to wander the streets that I’ve forgotten my camera.  But not today…

One of the most humbling things about being in Bangkok is my lack of Thai language skills.  Combine that with the determination to eat street food, and it’s doubly challenging.  I just walk in the unforgiving heat, until I see a customer eating something I want and then point to it.  There’s such an array of food that I wonder why Americanized Thai restaurants have such a limited template.

Charcoal and chicken, despite the blistering heat

A sampling of desserts

Leave a Reply

